Pharmacy News

The pharmacy news section of the MPA Web site is designed to provide members with immediate access to timely and relevant information about pharmacy and our Association. In this section, you will find information on MPA activities, Association members, the latest issues impacting the pharmacy profession and press releases from MPA and its affiliates.

Members are also encouraged to join the conversation by following MPA on Twitter @MIPharmacists for the latest breaking news. For more information on MPA's presence on social networking sites, visit our social media page.


Oct. 27, 2016
Contact: Kristina Bird, communications manager
(517) 377-0232


Malovrh Honored for her Ongoing Commitment and Dedication

to the Society and Michigan Pharmacists

Lansing, Mich. – Margaret A. Malovrh, Pharm.D., BCPS will receive the 2016 Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award at the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP) Annual Meeting on Oct. 28. Recipients of this award must be active in association work, be a member of MSHP and display leadership qualities.


Dr. Malovrh is being recognized as the recipient of this award for her ongoing and continual commitment to MSHP, the Association and the profession as a strong advocate and leader. Dr. Malovrh has been an active member in the Association since joining in 1980. Over the last 30 years, Dr. Malovrh has continually helped lead the Society and Association in all its activities and goals. Namely, Dr. Malovrh has served as president of both the Capital Area Pharmacists Association (CAPA) and MSHP. Previously, she has served on several MSHP committees and even sat as the Chair for the MSHP Organizational Affairs Committee. Dr. Malovrh is currently serving on the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) Executive Board. Outside of her membership with MPA, Dr. Malovrh has also been a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) since 1981 and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) since 1998. Dr. Malovrh has also served as delegates to both the ASHP House of Delegates as well as to the MPA House of Delegates.

Dr. Malovrh received her Bachelor of Science degree in 1980 from Ferris State University (FSU) and continued on to earn her Doctor of Pharmacy in 1993 also from Ferris. She became a member of MPA as soon as she completed her undergraduate education. Currently she serves as the clinical coordinator and pharmacy resident director at the Sparrow Health System in Lansing, a position she’s held since 2007. Dr. Malovrh is also a preceptor for students from University of Michigan (UM), Wayne State University (WMU) and FSU. She is board certified in pharmacotherapy, and has earned the Fellow of the MPA distinction for her continual work in preparing pharmacy students and leading the profession over the last 30 years.

MSHP is a practice section of MPA consisting of more than 600 health-system pharmacy professionals. Since its founding in 1883, MPA has been a leader in the professional and scientific advancement of pharmacy and in safeguarding the well-being of individual patients in Michigan.




There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.

Pharmacy News

You must configure this module first via "Module Settings"