Congratulations to MPA member Jesse Hogue, who was elected and installed as chair of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) House of Delegates June 11!

Hogue’s term as chair will expire in 2027. The chair presides at all meetings of the House of Delegates, is a member of the ASHP Board of Directors and represents the House of Delegates at all Board meetings. Specific responsibilities include:

  • Guides the House of Delegates in its interpretation of the ASHP governing documents, precedents, and Robert’s Rules of Order as they relate to the business of the House.
  • Advises the Board of Directors on issues and actions likely to be raised by the House of Delegates.
  • Recognizes certified delegates or alternates appearing before the House as the enrolled and recognized delegate from each state.
  • Conducts and presides at any open hearing, in conjunction with any House of Delegates session.
  • Extends the privilege of the floor during the meeting of the House of Delegates
  • Conducts the order of business of the House of Delegates.
  • Serves as liaison between the submitter of resolutions for consideration by the House and the Committee on Resolutions.
  • Consults with the parliamentarian concerning current and pending procedural matters before the House.
  • Serves as Board liaison to House caucuses.
  • Prepares reports to the Board of Directors and the House on actions taken at meetings.

He is the pharmacy education coordinator, the PGY-1 pharmacy residency director and an emergency department pharmacist at Bronson Methodist Hospital in Kalamazoo. Hogue currently serves on the ASHP Commission on Credentialing and has been a Michigan delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates for 15 years. He has previously served on the ASHP Council on Education and Workforce Development.

Hogue has been an outstanding member of MPA, having served as president, treasurer and executive board member for the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP). He also served on the MPA Executive Board and in the MPA House of Delegates. He is a Fellow of MPA and a member of the MPA Hall of Honor. Other accomplishments include the MSHP Pharmacist of the Year, the MSHP Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award and the MPA Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award.