MPA | Pharmacy News

The Bureau of Professional Licensing under the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) published on March 16, 2016, the final rules for licensed pharmacy technicians in the State of Michigan. Topics covered by the new rule set include:
Eligibility for licensure
Licensure by endorsement
Approved pharmacy technician training programs
Requirements for re-licensure
Training standards for identifying victims of human trafficking
Continuing education and examination requirements
Activities and functions that may be performed by a pharmacy technician

The final rules can be accessed online by visiting the LARA Web site under the Office of Regulatory Reinvention:

Summary of Pharmacy Continuing Education Requirements 

For those renewing on June 30, 2016

If you were licensed... Then you will need... 
Prior to June 30, 2015 10 hours of CE
After June 30, 2015 0 hours of CE

For renewals after a completed, two year licensure period...

Continuing Education Required  Number of Hours
Live Hours 5 hours
Pain and Symptom Management 1 hour
Patient Safety 1 hour
Pharmacy Law 1 hour
Pharmacy technicians are required to obtain 20 hours in total prior to applying for renewal. This only applies to pharmacy technicians renewing after a full 2-year licensure cycle.

Bookmark and Share  

Search for
Pharmacy News