MPA | Pharmacy News

By Anuvrat Chopra, Pharm.D., BCPS, pharmacy resident, St. John Hospital and Medical Center, Detroit

The Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (MSHP) Annual Meeting was held on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017, at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing. The event offered several networking opportunities for all attendees along with several continuing education seminars and numerous chances to meet and interact with fellow Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA)/MSHP members and delegates. 

The event began with registration and continental breakfast, during which attendees networked over coffee and light refreshments. The keynote session was delivered by Scott J. Knoer, Pharm.D., chief pharmacy officer at Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio, and Nadia Haque, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacy specialist at Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, where population health management strategies related to medication use were discussed as well as guidance regarding the role of pharmacists participating in population health initiatives was provided. The Town Hall Meeting followed the keynote session, where Board Officers were sworn in as members of the MSHP Board, committee chairs and members were recognized for their services and the annual MSHP awards were handed out as well. Winners of this year’s MSHP Awards were: Pharmacist of the Year, Denise Pratt, Pharm.D., critical care specialist, Sparrow Hospital, Lansing; Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award, Paul Walker, Pharm.D., clinical professor, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor; Professional Practice Award, Henry Ford Oral Chemotherapy Management Program Team, Henry Ford Health-System, Detroit, and lastly, President’s Award, Amber Lanae Martirosov, assistant clinical professor, Wayne State University, Detroit. This year, MSHP also awarded Rich Lucarotti, long-time executive vice president of the Society with the Service Award for his 25+ years of service and dedication to the Society and its mission. 

The morning concluded with the general session presented by Susan DeVuyst-Miller, Pharm.D., assistant professor at Ferris State University College of Pharmacy, Grand Rapids. Dr. Miller explained the role of opioid medications, signs of opioid overdose, the role of naloxone in preventing accidental prescription overdose and the current recommendations of the State and local opioid task force. The Clinical Skills Competition was also held in the morning, where teams composed of the best and brightest students from each Michigan College of Pharmacy competed to create a patient care plan. Winners of this year’s clinical skills competition were Maryam Abbo and Adina Poparad, Wayne State University pharmacy students.

After an excellent lunch with exhibitors, attendees had the option of choosing between three tracks: clinical, leadership/management and residency. Attendees choosing to start with the clinical track had the opportunity to attend a very informative presentation of recent updates in oral anticoagulation presented by Mona Ali, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist specialist (anticoagulation) at Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak and Jenna M. Holzhausen, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist specialist (cardiac critical care) at Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak. Attendees who chose to start with the leadership track attended a presentation by Jassu Dulai, Pharm.D., assistant director of pharmacy at Beaumont Hospital, Grosse Pointe, where new regulations for hazardous drugs mandated by USP 800 standards were discussed. Attendees interested in the residency track attended a seminar about new practitioner transitions and self-assessment skills presented by Nancy MacDonald, Pharm.D., transition of care coordinator and pharmacy resident on-call program coordinator at Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, and Nicholas P. Torney, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist (infectious diseases) at Munson Medical Center, Traverse City. 

After the first round of presentations, the next clinical track seminar was presented by Susan L. Davis, Pharm.D., clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice at Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Detroit; Bernard L. Marini, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacy specialist (inpatient hematology) at University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor and Nisha Patel, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist (internal medicine) at Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit. At this seminar clinical updates in infectious diseases, pulmonary hypertension, oncology and hematology were discussed. The afternoon leadership/management track included a very informative session presented by Ryan P. Mynatt, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist (infectious diseases) at Detroit Receiving Hospital, Detroit Medical Center, Detroit and Christine N. Yost, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacy specialist (infectious diseases) at Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, where tactics to approach the Joint Commission Antimicrobial Stewardship survey were discussed. The final residency track presentation covering mentorship in the profession of pharmacy was presented by Daniel J. Lobb, B.S.Pharm, pharmacist, Walgreens and representative of the Wayne County Pharmacists Association, Westland, Richard L. Lucarotti, Pharm.D., professor at Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Detroit, and Joshua Raub, Pharm.D., clinical pharmacist specialist (internal medicine) and director - PGY1 pharmacy residency program at Detroit Receiving Hospital, Detroit Medical Center, Detroit. 

Exhibitors also had the option to attend the reverse exhibitor program where representatives had the opportunity to have one-on-one discussions with key pharmacy decision makers about their products and company information. 

Next year’s meeting is planned for Friday, Nov. 2, at the Sheraton Detroit Novi Hotel in Novi, Mich. We can’t wait to see you there!

Bookmark and Share  

Search for
Pharmacy News