MPA | Pharmacy News

Feb. 26, 2015
Contact: Leah Ball, director of communications
(517) 377-0232

Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) members Michael Collins, Annette Frosch, Elizabeth Laswell and Lori Mann will be awarded the Michigan Pharmacy Political Action Council (PAC) Hank Fuhs Good Government Award at the MPA Annual Convention & Exposition, Feb. 27-March 1 at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center.

The Hank Fuhs Good Government Award is presented by Pharmacy PAC to student pharmacists and pharmacy professionals in recognition of continued public service, outstanding participation in Association events and political action on behalf of pharmacy in Michigan.

Michael Collins has been an active member of the Association since 1985 and currently serves as the owner and president of Healthway Compounding Pharmacy of St. Charles and Saginaw. He has been practicing the art of compounding for more than 20 years. Collins played an integral role in advocating for amendments made in the final hours during the passage of new Michigan compounding regulations in 2014. Although we were not able to get all the changes that we would have preferred, without Collins and other compounding pharmacists there to testify, legislators would not have heard about the critical impact that the legislation could have caused, including barriers to care.

Annette Frosch is currently the chief operating officer of Nash Drugs, Inc., where she also practices as a pharmacist. After graduating from Ferris State University with a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy, she began practicing at Nash Drugs right away and purchased Litchfield Drugs from Bill Nash one year later. Frosch later purchased Hopps Colonial Pharmacy in Homer; however, in 1998, she sold her pharmacies to return to Nash Drugs to manage its three retail locations. She was recently instrumental in the initiative of getting Senate Bill 656 introduced by Sen. Bruce Caswell (R-Hillsdale). This bill marks the first time that pharmacy benefit managers will have to provide information to pharmacies about the reimbursement amount or Maximum Allowable Cost for generic medications.

Elizabeth Laswell is a 2015 Pharm.D. candidate at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. She was chair of the MPA Student Pharmacist Executive Council and a member of the MPA Executive Board during her P3 year in 2014. During her time on the Executive Board, Laswell knew that she had limited time in this leadership position and that she had to make it count. She contacted the office of Rep. Jim Stamas (R-Midland) and worked to arrange a coffee shop meeting with him to discuss Senate Bill 92 focused on pharmacy technician licensure. Her efforts helped to move the legislation out of the Michigan House of Representatives.

Lori Mann is a Certified Pharmacy Technician at Michigan State University Clinical Center in East Lansing. She served on the Michigan Society of Pharmacy Technicians (MSPT) Executive Committee from 2000 to 2006. In addition, Mann was a member of the Pharmacy PAC Board of Directors in 2007. She supported efforts to move the pharmacy technician licensure bill through the Michigan Legislature, including personal contacts to numerous Senators and Representatives, advocating for this important patient safety issue that has been a goal of MSPT since the mid-1980s. Throughout the process, Mann coordinated her efforts with the Society as well as MPA and attended hearings that were held for the legislation.

The Michigan Pharmacy Political Action Council (PAC) is a voluntary, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of pharmacy professionals that actively seek to promote good government and public health. Pharmacy PAC serves as the advocacy arm of Michigan Pharmacists Association, which advances the profession of pharmacy and patient care on behalf of the 9,000 pharmacists and 15,000 pharmacy technicians in the state.

Bookmark and Share  

Search for
Pharmacy News